65 Comments
author

Interesting that our first discussion thread for Teaching Readers (Not Reading) has led to a conversation centered on writing and writers...

Expand full comment
Nov 7, 2022Liked by Matt Renwick

This begins by knowing students from all angles, not just a single story we use for students. This means that we cannot rely on one source of information like test scores vs in the moment observations over time, school learning vs community and the world, who they are as learners vs who they are as humans; labels we use to define them vs. the stories they bring into the classroom. Once we understand they are ALL of these things, then we can explore all aspects of what it means to be a learner. This is more important than ever at a time when one aspect of learning (phonics) has assumed such a prominent focus of our discussions (which Peter Afflerbach addresses so eloquently in his book. We can't attend to all aspects while teaching readers if we don't know (and admire) all aspects of readers.

Expand full comment

I can only add to this powerful plea for teachers to know students from all angles one extension: Let them know we want to know them as readers. Invite them to talk or draw or write about what happens inside when they read or listen to stories that touch them. How does the magic happen? The dilemma of phonics is tough. Of course, early readers need to construct knowledge of phonics. But some do it quickly without a problem, some need more systematic help, and some need expert one on one help. The problem isn’t how to teach phonics--nor why. It’s when, how much, in what context. It’s somewhat of a resource and scheduling issue.

Expand full comment
Nov 11, 2022Liked by Matt Renwick

Thanks, Matt!!

As a University Supervisor for JMU, I am lucky enough to be in schools often- it’s the very best part of my job!! Working with Student Teachers is a blessing and a gift!! My passion, obviously 🙄 is literacy, and I am able to somewhat impact new teachers’ understanding that literacy is an all day event, impacting every aspect of learning!! The pedagogy of literacy I use always, especially “conferring” with learners which should occur ANYTIME children are working independently or in collaborative groups!

I live and write from my heart! I hope my “style” does not offend anyone! I can write with a totally professional voice, however, this is a book club, so I am more inclined to be my crazier self!!

Thanks for including me in this group of brilliant educators!! Happy Friday!!

Expand full comment
Nov 11, 2022Liked by Matt Renwick

Good soapbox, Joy! Why does writing often get cut out of literacy time? ... and then we wonder why young writers lose interest in writing! We can't write without reading but can read without writing!

Expand full comment
Nov 7, 2022Liked by Matt Renwick

Mary & Terry hit the nail on the head so well. Knowing your learner is imperitive as a teacher. Being interested in them and their lives, incorporating their interests and caring about who they are as people and as readers and writers. The curriculum in a class needs to reflect the students within it. A skilled teacher must be able to incorporate that while still meeting needs that will progress students towards being independent and successful learners.

Expand full comment

I got the idea from reading Gregory Corsaro’s ethnographic study of friendship in a preschool. He was a big guy, six feet six I think, and he had trouble becoming invisible in the setting as a good ethnographer must do, a fly on the wall. He wrote that he had to play in the sandbox with them to win their trust. To me, poetry has always been a form of play. I had no idea how much my kids would take to it. I knew they liked hearing poems. Repeated readings and memorizing, readers theater—it was all there. It was such fun, Matt. Having fun and feeling playful during hard work is a power combination.

Expand full comment

In my fourth grade writing workshop, I shared drafts in the author’s chair and asked my kids for feedback. I’ve written poetry as long as I can remember, and much of what I shared with them was poetry. Several students became very serious about poetry, and it broke down barriers between us. There is a vulnerability that brings empathy into the picture and blurs the distinction between a writer and a piece of writing in a poetry workshop. We actually put on poetry readings for other classes and for parents. I miss this most of all from those days in the mid 1980s.

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Matt Renwick

I thought it might also be helpful to share this here. Peter Afflerbach was on our #G2great chat on 6/16/22. I wrote the post below and included ALL of his answers to the questions and his thoughts on books as well as key tweets. I think it's a great extension to this discussion straight from Peter Afflerbach!

https://literacylenses.com/2022/06/teaching-readers-not-reading-moving-beyond-skills-and-strategies-to-reader-focused-instruction%EF%BF%BC/

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Matt Renwick

I agree with the comments so far! Knowing our students, knowing the curriculum and using a repertoire of effective instructional practices allows the teacher to be responsive to the learner’s progress. Building on learner strengths enables us to target instruction with the appropriate challenge rather than using assessments that look for gaps, from a deficit approach. Our national Australian Curriculum is mandated in Tasmania, and I wonder if we focus on strategies and skills because they are easier to assess, monitor or check. How do we become better observers of our readers’ progress across all these factors that influence reading growth?

Empowering teachers through quality professional learning or collegial conversations is key. Opportunities to challenge our own understandings and think deeply about why we use specific classroom practices will support us to become more reflective educators and counter media misinterpretations.

Expand full comment
Nov 13, 2022Liked by Matt Renwick

Mary,

I just read your interview with Peter Afferbach!!! It is sooo insightful!! I learned so much and feel more and more out of my league amongst all of you in this book club and your brilliance!!

I appreciate this opportunity to learn with such exceptional authors and professionals!!!

Expand full comment
Nov 12, 2022Liked by Matt Renwick

I feel so incredibly blessed to be in a discussion with so many brilliant others. Thank you for inspiring me with every comment friends! In a world where social media has become so contentious, it's lovely to just talk about the reason all of us are here: A sense of awe for kids and doing all we can to support those kids! I am loving this group!

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Matt Renwick

Oh, so true, Mary! Learners first!

Expand full comment

A thread that is going around the school librarian community right now focuses on reading aloud as the lesson plan. There is often a need to defend that reading with students is enough. The pressure is often felt that there needs to be something attached to the story for it to be an authentic reading experience. It is essential to build that community of readers and preserve the reading time. I thought it connected to this conversation because so many reading lessons leave out the time to read. Here is a link to one of the conversations on "The Book Wrangler" page. https://www.instagram.com/p/ClrkJMqvXvI/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link.

Expand full comment

Joy I was hoping I could find a copy but all I could find is this one page: https://www.jstor.org/stable/40009862

Essentially, he observed intervention lessons and found that the teachers had activities, tools, games etc... but VERY little actual reading. In 50 + years in education and spending time in schools across, I can say that this is still true in so many settings (for guided reading as well). We have so much research on the role of volume and yet still too often preference DOING over engaging.

Here's one I found from Pat Cunningham who did some writing with Allington, but the original is the best!

chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https://www.paps.net/cms/lib4/NJ01001771/Centricity/Domain/2102/If%20they%20dont%20read%20much%20how%20they%20ever%20gonna%20get%20good.pdf

Expand full comment