7 Comments
Nov 28, 2022Liked by Matt Renwick

Transfer is key and such an important idea when teaching readers - how can they transfer their learning and understanding of what is being taught to other places, perhaps ones where they need to be more independent. I come up against this issue a lot when I teach students who are not having an easy time learning to read. I have to make transfer explicit - demonstrate it, do it with them, tell them when they did it, show them how they did it - basically I'm describing the gradual release model I guess! Another key for me that is important is that word opportunities. Many students are missing opportunities to do these things. We need to plan for them and give them to them over and over again.

Expand full comment
author

"Word opportunities" - interesting! Thanks for sharing your insights, Belinda. I am reminded of one of the first podcasts I hosted with Wisconsin professor Jackie Witter-Easley around her book on capturing "literacy moments": https://readbyexample.substack.com/p/jackie-witter-easley-on-capturing#details

Expand full comment

Great prompt, Matt. One key for me is inherent in the word “responsibility.” Do readers in my class usually think of themselves as responsible for their choices, goals, and behaviors as readers? To what degree can children be responsible? How can I help them to be responsible (self-assessment has been my goto here)? Is there a developmental progression? In all my years of teaching I’ve viewed the power of the teacher to assign and evaluate as a sort of third rail. I think Peter here is suggesting that we just go ahead and grab it and try to make it serve learning despite its dangers. Is there any other way?

I also have a longstanding uneasiness about the word “independent reader” on philosophical grounds, though I understand its importance in the field of reading. For me “alone” does not equal “independent.” It might be worthwhile to examine its meaning as well. I like the word “agency,” partly because it captures the role of motivation. Independence can be where the wild things are. It can also signify a lack of guardrails.

When I was teaching elementary school, I hadn’t had my daughter in my life. I realized that my approach would have been different in light of my own personal experience with raising a child (and this was just one:). I faced the same dilemma only on steroids. My wife taught elementary school, too, and we both struggled to stand back and watch her face the third rail in the classroom.

I do think it boils down to a commitment to provide opportunities for authentic literacy from day one. But that could just be another word that needs to be unpacked.

Expand full comment
author

I appreciate all these questions and perspectives, Terry. In particular, you make an important distinction between 'alone' and 'independent'. Agency does seem to better capture I think what we are all after here. Can they build this capacity through opportunities for being responsible, for recognizing when they need support? As you note, self-assessment seems like an effective pathway.

For students who struggle with self-directedness in general, I found Kelly Cartwright's recent ILA webinar about executive functioning informative; I summarized some of my learning here with a link to the content: https://readbyexample.substack.com/p/attention-and-insight (My only critique was the lack of attention on meaningful, relevant texts and tasks.)

Expand full comment

For me the essential feature of transfer is multiple exposure in varied contexts with practice OVER TIME. One of the reasons transfer can be challenging in schools is that we tend to segment learning and our attempts for transfer are often in a single context or experience. I see this far too often within the the intervention process often where we may be at cross purposes so that children may be getting wonderful opportunities in the intervention but it's never makes its way into the classroom (or even vice versa). Kids then walk away from the table and that learning is like water off a ducks back. I worry too that we tend to SEGMENT learning so children never have a chance for the practice that is so crucial. I consider TALK a tool and it's central to the transfer efforts I describe in that first sentence. Meandering thoughts on a big picture priority!

Expand full comment
author
Nov 30, 2022·edited Nov 30, 2022Author

I'm glad you brought up this topic of exposure, Mary. We've been talking about the same thing in our school as we implement a new literacy curriculum resource (Benchmark Advance) while maintaining the more authentic aspects of instruction. The consultant we work with stresses exposure and reminding us to not spend too much time on any one standard or task. We need to ensure time for kids to talk/listen as you note, to practice with support as needed, and to immerse themselves in self-directed literacy experiences.

The challenge at a schoolwide level is: everyone has to commit to the same approach. If one team believes the next grade level isn't addressing essential aspects of the literacy curriculum, or they believe a grade level below them isn't stressing one element of reading, then they tend to double down on that area at the expense of equally important elements of the curriculum.

Coherence is the goal; segmentation through fragmented practices and resources is an obstacle.

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2022Liked by Matt Renwick

That last sentence says it ALL Matt!

Expand full comment